Welcome to my blog !

Blogging For My Life!

A little about me, I’m 24 years old, own my house, work for a telecoms company and I live in the UK. I have been thinking about starting some sort of finance based blog for a while now, having been following many blogs myself, such as Brave New Life and Mr Money Mustache, which I’m sure many people will be familiar with. The thing that always gets me when I read those blogs however is that everything is in USD $ , which makes things difficult when trying to compare my situation when I live in the UK. I have seen many people expressing similar frustrations on these blogs, which is what has given me the final push to get my own blog started from a UK point of view.

Before we get started I would quickly like to explain the name of my blog. I am not LITERALLY blogging for my life, I will still be working a full time job and have no intentions of quitting that anytime soon, however much I might want to. And just to clarify, its not that I hate my job because I can honestly say that I don’t, but the thought of working another 43 years until I reach the standard retirement age makes me feel queasy just thinking about it.

Now then, my aim for this blog is to write about all things Finance, along with anything else that takes my fancy, because at the end of the day, this is MY blog 😉 . The main goal I am focusing on at the moment, and have been for some time now, is to become ‘Financially Independent’. For anyone who isn’t too sure what that means, google sums it up quite nicely… *Financial independence is the state of having sufficient personal wealth to live, without having to work actively for basic necessities. For financially independent people, their assets generate income and/or cash flow from dipping into their assets that is at least as great as their expenses.* Now you might be wondering how I am going to achieve this, and I will go into a further breakdown of this in future posts, but for now I will just say that I am living frugally and saving/investing as much I possibly can into different money making avenues, such as stocks/shares and peer-to-peer lending. As I write this I am a long way off from achieving Financial Independence, however it is a goal that I am aiming to achieve before my 40th birthday giving me just under 16 years to achieve it. I feel if I start blogging about it, I can interact with other like-minded people online and share our journeys together. This will not only help me on my path, but it may also help others too. If I could help one person to become better with their finances and get them on the track to retiring early and off the hamster wheel of the day-to-day work life, then this blog will have been worth while.

I welcome any comments good or bad (naturally i would prefer good comments but after all, this is my first attempt at so-called blogging), and if anyone would like to share their own situation then I will be glad to reply and see if we can help each other along in our journey to becoming financially free!

Leave a Reply

