Red pill or the Blue pill ?

Is it just me or is the Matrix real ? … ‘What is he talking about?’ I hear you say. Well you will have to excuse me there, I lost myself for a moment, for some reason The Matrix is playing on the office tv. Actually, it feels quite appropriate right about now. When I’m sat in this office I feel like Neo in a way, not in the slow-mo, ass-kicking way of course, but in a similar way to how Neo can see things other people can not. You probably think I’m crazy, but indulge me for just a moment, lets see how far the rabbit hole goes.

Im sat at work gazing out of the window as the sun shines down (if you live in england you will know this is a rare thing, so you have to make the most of it), its the first monday morning since our last pay day, only 3 days prior. Now I would have thought that this would leave everybody in a positive mood coming into the week, as everyone must be flush with cash having only just got paid. But wait a minute, what is that I can hear just over there, ‘I don’t know where my money goes, I’m already counting down the days till next pay day’. EXCUSE ME! Did I miss hear what my colleague just said? At this point I’m sure your saying to yourself ‘of course you miss heard Mr. Blogging For My Life, that is impossible, your colleague was only paid 3 days ago!’. I wish this were true, I really do. However, this is something that I hear said in my office all too frequently from the same group of people. The same group of people that drive the brand new fancy pants BMW’s, or the new super duper Mercedes Benz. Now from that last sentence alone, I’m sure it has become clear to you as to why these people don’t seem to have any money month after month after month. And yet for my colleagues, they are blind to it, spending hours every month moaning about paying bills with money they don’t seem to have, and wondering when their lottery numbers are going to come in, because as iv been told by my colleagues may times before, ‘thats the only way you’ll ever get to retire in a job like this’.

Now, it may have just become clear to you as to why I feel like I can see things in this office that others cannot, and it has nothing to do with me being ‘The One’.

Im sure you will agree with me when I say that what my colleague has expressed to me is simply not true, which is why I find it so disheartening that my colleagues actually believe that the lottery is their only way out and that everyone must simply struggle on until the stars align and their numbers are announced, walking around blind to their own self-destructive spending habits, making the same mistakes time after time again. If only they could see that their situation is simply a choice, a decision that they are fully in control of, similar to the decision of ‘The red pill or the blue pill’. I wonder what my colleagues would do if faced with such a decision. The blue pill would represent staying in their current situation and continuing to believe they have no way out. However the red pill would represent a completely different path in life, a path where there is self-awareness and disciple, and an abundance of money just waiting for them round the corner, the only condition to it is that they must set out and follow a strict budget each month, one which covers all the necessary expenses and leaves plenty of money left over for saving/investing. This is something that I know works and what I would advise anyone to do if they want to get a good grip on their own financial situation. The problem for my colleagues though, is that choosing to take the red pill, the alternate path, would mean that they would need to stop living the fancy pants lifestyles that they keep trying to convince us all is the only way, the cars would need to go, the fast food breakfast’s & lunch’s that are consumed on a daily basis would have to be swapped out for a cheaper alternative, dare I say it, a homemade lunch. But as I write this, and as you read this, I think we both know that those changes are never going to happen. We both know that in a months time I will be subjected to the same conversation of money woes and lottery hopes. But that does not mean that you or I have to choose that same path too, we also have our own decision to make.

So put yourself in that situation and think about the decision at hand, what path are you going to choose for your own life…

The Red pill or the Blue pill ?

 

2 thoughts on “Red pill or the Blue pill ?

  1. Wow! Excellent post. I have had the same thoughts before myself. In fact I see this in my place of employment all the time. I like the Matrix twist you put on it. When I go into work this morning, Ill probably be envisioning blue and red pills on each person’s desk. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Defeatingnormal, really glad you enjoyed the post. I wanted to put a unique twist on what I consider to be a really common issue that many of us experience in the work place. At the end of the day it all comes down to us simply choosing what we want out of life. I just can’t understand why anyone would choose the path of working forever and never getting to a place of financial stability.
    Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

